LASIK PRK catarectomy and how I got here

Hey guys.

I’m a female in my 30s who was diagnosed with acute onset juvenile rheumatoid arthritis.
The biggest contributing factor to this was my majority percentage heritage (73% Native American ancestry) aside from other health complications I had earlier in life.
About two years ago my contacts started really bothering me. I thought it was pink eye, then allergies and then contact sensitivity. It wasn’t. But it bothered me enough to look into LASIK.
From the RA I developed something in my eyes called Sjögren’s syndrome. Basically when your eye is so dry that it can scar your sclera (the whites of your eyes) or cause chronic dry eye. This is a problem because it’s how cataracts happen.
At the reexam the surgeon determined prk would be the best way to go aside from intraocular lens replacement. LASIK was not an option due to the condition of the eyes and how advanced it had become. 
Check out my YouTube channel to see my vlogs on my recovery journey:
CyanideCupcakeYum

One sour puss' thoughts on all things sweet

Posted in after LASIK, arthritis, cancer, Cataracts, dry eye, juvenile rheumatoid, LASIK recovery, sclera scarring, Sjögren's syndrome, survivor, why I got LASIK, young

Leave a Reply

